Quest for the Curls: Part 2

I am in a rut. About a month and a half into my natural curl journey and I am experiencing the same feelings of frustration and distaste for my hair that I felt in the first two weeks. That old familiar feeling of being embarrassed about the frizziness of my mane is creeping back and I cannot help but stare longingly at  the smooth, sleek strands of my classmates as I sit in the classroom.

I suffered a slight setback during the middle of the month. I went home for Spring Break and had a few interviews to attend. Dressing up for an important interview means doing my hair as well and sadly, there were more days than not where my hair was scorched with some sort of hot tool. It was as if I was addict given another hit; by the end of the week I was craving that smooth, frizz-free feeling. I knew that I needed to get back to my experiment, but I did so begrudgingly. My hair felt frizzy, untamable, and out of control. No matter what I did, I couldn’t get back those loose curls I had obtained before the break began.

So, I decided to try something new. I took two hours to sit down and do my homework. I learned that my “curl type” is 2C, according to Naturally Curly. Com and I discovered the types of products worked best for my curls. I made my list, gave myself a budget, and set out on my experiment.

Unfortunately, the CVS closest to me does not have the most expansive hair care aisle, and I found myself very limited in my options. I decided to go with the L’Oreal Evercurl system; a shampoo, conditioner, and curl styling cream, all sulfate-free and deep hydrating.

I was super excited to wash my hair that night (we all know that feeling; just washing our hair is going to guarantee we feel better about ourselves) and told my friends I better have “goddess curls” after the money I spent on the products. I followed the steps exactly, including the styling cream, and went to sleep. In the morning, my hair was still slightly damp and definitely not as “goddess” like as I had hoped it would be. I chalked it up to my hair needing a few days to get used to the new products and vowed to continue using them.

The next day, I decided to shower in the morning, using all the products, and dry my hair with a diffuser. My hair definitely did not lack volume, although the curls were more wavy and less curly than I would have liked. I noticed that my ends seemed “crunchy” and weighed down by the styling cream. I got lots of comments on the length of my hair and the waves within it. I really like the shampoo and styling cream and felt my hair was not as “dried out” as it had seemed with the other products I was using. However, I was still disappointed in the lack of curliness to my hair and the weight my ends seemed to hold.

For the weekend, I decided I was going to wash my hair in the morning and let it air dry, without using the styling cream. I didn’t want to add any unnecessary product to my hair that would slow down the drying process and I didn’t want to make it heavier than it already was (although my hair is not thick, it is very long, which adds some weight). I was going to my boyfriend’s sister’s play that evening and, while seeing his family was usually an event I would make sure my hair was done up for, I decided they were going to have to embrace the natural WHATEVER my hair was to be that day. I showered, watched way too many episodes of Say Yes to the Dress, painted my nails, and did my makeup while my hair air dried. It was nice to just let it do its own thing and not have to worry about fitting in time to attack it with product and heat tools.

One of the issues I often have with my hair is the front pieces. They are slightly layered, falling shorter than the rest of my hair, and usually just dry in a limp, not really curly or wavy just kind of hanging there, type of way. My mom has been telling me for years to twist and clip up that part of my hair while I’m doing my makeup to “give it some lift” and I finally decided to listen to her. Not only was it handy to have the front of my hair out of the way while I was doing my makeup, but it actually did provide a little more lift and structure to my usually limp section. I ended up throwing some styling cream into my hair right before walking out the door, just as a way to cut down on the frizz. I made sure to avoid the ends and only apply the cream to the middle of my hair and sparsely on the roots. My hair still wasn’t the curly spirally look I was hoping to achieve, but it definitely held a more defined shape than it had in the past.

I know that I am going to have to use heat on my hair in the upcoming week, as I have some business professional events to attend. My hope is that, as I continue to use the L’Oreal EverCurl system, my hair will begin to adjust to its “natural” shape. If not, I am going to have to find a different hair care system and see if it works better. The quest for the curls continues!

Leave a Reply

